epilogue

Today I’m going to see my best friend from college, to love her and support her after her dad passed away this week. She lives three hours away and we don’t see each other often, but it’s one of those amazing friendships that always picks up where it left off. She’s great, but this post isn’t about her.

It’s about her dad.

I didn’t know him well, but I spent enough hours at their house over the years to know a few things. He was a great man. He was full of joy and love. He lifted the room when he entered it. If there was a color that represented him, I think it was yellow – cheerful, full of sunshine, optimistic.

I read his obituary this week and it made me smile. This was the guy I knew. More than that, this epilogue to his life was inspiring. It made me think about what mine would say. Would someone read it and think “her color was yellow – full of sunshine”? Or would they read it and only say “yep, she lived”.

[He] enjoyed people

He loved his creator, Jesus Christ, and saw his goodness manifested in people and nature.

They respected his quick wit and ability to bring optimism to nearly every situation.

Lord, thank you for making [him] a channel of your peace.

A channel of your peace. Those are heavy-hitting words. Have I created peace or strife lately? Honestly, probably more of the latter. I want to love others well. I want those closest to me to know I love them every single day. I want to find joy in the hard days and sunshine when it rains. I want to be a channel of His peace too.

The Prayer of St. Francis

Lord, make me a channel of your peace;
Where there is hatred, let me bring love;
Where there is injury, pardon;
Where there is doubt, faith;
Where there is despair, hope;
Where there is darkness, light;
Where there is sadness, joy;

Lord, grant that I may not seek to be
Consoled as to console;
Understood as to understand;
Loved as to love.

For it is in giving that we receive;
In pardoning as we are pardoned,
And in dying that we are born to eternal life.

Leave a Reply

