ten

wedding 015.jpg

Ten years ago today, on a clear Las Vegas night (after an afternoon monsoon), we married. Joey was 25 and I was 24 and holy bananas that feels so young now. The girl in that picture knew we had it all figured out, that marriage would be sunshine and rainbows for us because we knew each other so well.

wedding 022.jpg

Joey, we’ve been through 3 houses, 6 cars, a toe-dip into infertility struggles, newborn nights and teething and toddlerhood and sassy elementary-aged kids x2. We’ve been lucky enough to travel together to some pretty cool places; we’ve been able to show our boys a tiny bit of the world. We’ve survived house projects of varying sizes. You’ve reached a level of acceptance over my anal retentiveness of paint color choices and I’m not touching the signed Joe Montana helmet, per your request. You’re my favorite person to do life with and I’m so thankful for your fun energy, encouragement of my crazy, and your sense of adventure.

DSCF0566.jpg

This past year has been the hardest, most chaotic of the eleven-point-five we’ve been together. We joke that God picked us up where we were, spun us around, and set us off on a new course. We’ve had hard conversations and sleepless nights. A year ago we were like co-parenting roommates. Today, I love you more than yesterday (yesterday you made me a little stabby). 😉 I feel like we’re actual adults now. We can handle a storm and seek Jesus and each other and come out better. I’m so so proud of you for the growth that you’ve made even in the past few months. You’re the best leader of our family. You’re the half that makes us whole.

This song plays on my running playlist and I didn’t really catch the words until a few weeks ago. I’m so thankful to be broken and messy with you.

 I love you. I can’t wait to see where the next decade takes us.

One thought on “ten

Leave a Reply

